Recordar Contraseña ¿Olvidaste tu Contraseña?
Ingresa tu correo eletrónico
Noticias   |   30 mayo, 2018

ENGLISH: Club América 101

Class is in session.


Club América was founded in 1916 and the club won its first title as an amateur side in 1924-25. Then another in 1925-26… and another in 1926-27 and a fourth consecutive title in 1927-28. When it comes to professional titles, the club has had plenty of success there too. In fact, more success than any other club in North América: 12 Liga MX titles and 5 Copa MX titles (both shared records), 5 Campeón de Campeones titles, 7 CONCACAF Champions League titles (the most of any team in the region), 2 Copa InterAméricana titles, and a CONCACAF Giants Cup.

The club’s home is the legendary Estadio Azteca. The 84,000 seat stadium was the first stadium in the world to host two World Cup Finals, and is one of just two stadiums to still hold the honor (Estádio do Maracanã, Brazil). The stadium has witnessed some of futbol’s most famous moments, like Maradona’s Goal of the Century and Hand of God goals, scored just minutes apart at the 1986 World Cup. The “most dramatic final in Mexican futbol” happened at the Azteca in 2013 as América completed an incredible comeback against Cruz Azul to win the title in penalties.

As far as rivalries, we’ve got plenty of those too. “El Clásico Nacional.” “El Super Clásico.” “El Clásico de Clásicos.” Whatever you call it, América vs Chivas Guadalajara is the biggest game in Mexico each season. It’s the biggest rivalry in North América, and one of the biggest in the world. Coming in at #12 on FourFourTwo’s “50 Biggest Derbies in the World” this match pits against each other the only two teams in Mexico to never be relegated. In 229 matches throughout the clubs’ histories, Club América holds the advantage with 82 wins and 74 draws. Locally, there’s the “Clásico Capitalino” against UNAM Pumas, a Clásico driven by the fact that the two teams’ stadiums are separated by fewer than five miles, and the “Clásico Joven” will take “local derby” to a whole new level this year as Cruz Azul will move in to the Azteca.

Through the years, Club América has earned their nickname: “El Más Grande.”